Weekly Writing Tips: The Importance of a Strong Story Opening

The Weekly Writing Tips are a collection of best practices for writing and reporting at Global Voices. July's tips are brought to you by Brazil editor Taisa Sganzerla.

Happy weekend, everyone, and welcome to July's Weekly Writing Tips!

This is Taisa Sganzerla, I'm Global Voices’ Brazil editor. I'll be taking over the WWT this month! And it's my first time, so I hope you guys find this useful.

For this first installment, I'd like to talk about the importance of drafting a strong story opening.

The first paragraph normally sets the tone and mood of your story, and it's in those first few seconds that your reader will decide whether to proceed reading or move on to the next browser tab, so it's worth putting some effort into it.

The rule in news writing is to start off with a standard lead — a factual, to-the-point summary of the story that answers that famous 5 Ws: who, what, where, when and why.

But depending on the subject, there are many other creative ways to begin your story. You can start with a character and how his or her personal story relates to the overarching narrative of what's happening. Or you can describe the scenery in which the story takes place.

In my years of working in media, editors have always frowned upon stories that start with a quote, but I particularly wouldn't write this off immediately: in some situations, a strong quote might make a great opening.

Here are a few non-standard story openings in GV posts that I particularly like.

Check out how Fernanda Canofre, one of our Brazilian authors, started off with the context before explaining the point of the story in the post “Mexican Soap Opera's Gay Couple Thrown Back into the Closet on Brazilian TV“: