GV Board Elections 2017: Arzu Geybulla(yeva)

Dear friends, members of this extremely valuable and diverse community of GVers!

I am writing this post to introduce myself as I too have been nominated for Volunteers’ Representative. Although I must say, I feel very unusually unprepared. It is most likely the result of me being from Azerbaijan and not really knowing (or having experienced for that matter) elections. So being nominated, in elections- the whole idea is not just new but as I said, unusual and very exiting at the same time.

Having said this, I am beyond honoured to be nominated together with so many amazing and talented GVers.

So, first things first. I am Arzu Geybulla(yeva) from Azerbaijan, based for the past few years in Istanbul. I am a journalist by background and have been reporting about Azerbaijan since 2009. But I have also been engaged in advocacy campaigns on behalf of political prisoners in Azerbaijan and have spoken at a number of international events, delivering speeches about poor human rights and freedoms record back home.

My main passion however is writing and telling stories. This is how I was introduced to journalism in the first place. I started up a blog back in 2008 and slowly what started as more of a hobby developed into me writing for outlets and covering developments in Azerbaijan. In 2014, my work was recognised by the BBC and was named on the list of 100 Women.

Today, I am continuing my work as a journalist in self imposed exile covering Azerbaijan.

GV community