GV Board Elections 2017: Endalk Chala

My name is Endalkachew Hilemikael Chala. I contracted Endalkachew into Endalk. I find it easier to go by Endalk. Unlike in most of the western world in Ethiopia, we use our father’s name in both formal and informal contexts. But I dropped my father’s name (Hilemikael) in favor of adopting my grandfather’s name (Chala) as a surname in accordance with western naming conventions after I came to the U.S in 2013.

Until I moved to Oregon, I lived in many parts of Ethiopia. I spent my formative age in Harar, an ancient town located in Eastern Ethiopia. While attending, elementary, middle and high schools, I lived in Ginchi, a town 45 miles West of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. After high school, I studied English Language and Literature at Dilla University for four years. Then I left to Arba Minch University to start a career in teaching English. In Arba Minch, I found myself into a different career path – journalism. Believing a graduate education in journalism would enhance my journalism career I joined School of Journalism and Communications at Addis Ababa University in 2006. Upon finishing the graduate program at Addis Ababa I returned to Arba Minch to teach journalism. After five years of interweaving exercise of teaching and practicing journalism at Arba Minch I came to School of Journalism and Communications at the University of Oregon in 2013 for Ph.D. studies.