GV Board Elections 2017: Marianne Díaz Hernández

Volunteer Representative Election

About me

I am a lawyer, fiction writer and human rights activist born in Venezuela and currently based in Santiago de Chile. I am also an open culture activist, having served for the past four years as the Creative Commons legal lead in Venezuela. I have lived a lot of different lives in the last decade, starting as a labor lawyer and going through a career as managing editor in a publishing house, founding a digital rights NGO in Venezuela, leading creative writing workshops and digital security workshops, to end up where I am now: as a researcher in public policies in the intersection between technology and human rights. Through all of this I have discovered that my vocation is to help people express themselves, and this lies at the center of everything I do, and makes Global Voices a place where I belong.

What I do at GV

I started in Global Voices back in 2010, right at the beginning of my activity as a volunteer (I have volunteered for Amnesty International and Creative Commons as well through all these years). I filled the volunteer form immediately after I learned that GV Advocacy (now Advox) existed, and how this project was working on the subject that mattered to me the most: the many different threats that online freedom of speech faced all over the world. Since then, I have served as an author for both Advox and the main GV site, as a translator for the Lingua Spanish team, and I have contributed with different projects (the dearest to my heart might be the beautiful project that is GVeX), but Advox remains my home and the place I contribute to the most. A lot of what I've done has to do with documenting abuses and threats to online freedoms in Venezuela; something I'm very proud of is the amazing coverage that our wonderful team did during the 2014 protests in the country.

About these elections