GV Board Elections 2017: Nevin Thompson

Nevin Thompson

This is me with my two sons in Japan.

My name is Nevin Thompson and I have been nominated as a community staff representative in the upcoming Global Voices board of directors elections being held March 16-20, 2017 (later this month). I first joined Global Voices in July 2005 as a volunteer writer, focusing on Japan, and I have been amazed and astounded by our growth since then.

I now work as a social media manager and Japan Editor, and also have recently joined the NewFrames project.

Staff Rep: Why Nevin?

I hope you'll consider voting for me as staff representative on the Global Voices Board of Directors. There are a couple of reasons why I would be a good choice:

1. Facilitate Communication

Thanks to the various roles I play at Global Voices (in the newsroom, on the social media team, etc.) I have a good understanding of the challenges and opportunities presented by Global Voices for staffers.

I also come into contact and work with just about everyone on the team, and have developed good relationships and lines of communication with those people. This helps with communication and problem-solving.

2. Help Global Voices Achieve Its Full Potential

I have worked with non-profits and non-profit boards since 2004 and currently sit as a board member of a non-profit society in Victoria, British Columbia, where I live.

I have experience with fiduciary oversight and understand how non-profit societies operate. My experience with project development, project planning, and managing the needs of funding partners, while staying true to the core values and mission of Global Voices, will also be helpful in the role of staff representative.

Finally, my experience and ongoing mastery of web-based communication will help inform decisions about how to make sure more and more people around the world are reading Global Voices.

What Nevin Does at Global Voices