GV Board Elections 2017: Rezwan

I'm honored to have been nominated as a staff representative, and if elected I will do my best to make sure that the voices of the community, especially the staff, are well represented at the Board level. We have a great set of deserving candidates both for staff representation and volunteer representation and I am excited by the campaign messages by the candidates so far. It is no surprise that so many of us care deeply about Global Voices and take steps so that it continues to grow and make impacts.

At BlogFest Asia 2012 in Siem Reap. Image credit Willy Wah.

Me & Global Voices:

I am a Bangladeshi blogger and researcher. My past experiences include being a consultant for UNDP, working for a multinational market research company and editorship in AJ+ and Rising Voices. In the past decade, I have lived in a number of countries and traveled to over 25 countries. I speak three languages fluently and have a working knowledge of three more.

My journey with Global Voices started as a volunteer author in 2005 and since then I have seen the community evolve to the current state. In 2007 I initiated the Global Voices Bangla Lingua community and became the editor. In 2008 I became a staff member as regional editor for South Asia. I participated in all the Global Voices summits since 2006 and have met so many of you in person. Global Voices has become a family for me and I've had the opportunity to experience GV through each of these roles, from volunteer to a staff member. I have a good understanding of how GV operates and have good relation with many of the board members and editors, as well as team members. I regularly engage and contribute to informal conversations on Global Voices Slack, WhatsApp and Instagram channels. I also maintain and operate the social media accounts of the Global Voices South Asia and Global Voices Bangla Lingua sites.

My Teams