Meet Esther Dodo, the Editor who Gets Disconneted Playing Tennis and Dancing Zumba

Esther Dodo

Global Voices interviews Portuguese Lingua Editor, Esther Dodo, about her experience with GV and her life between the US and Brazil!

Global Voices: Tell us a bit about yourself, how you joined Global Voices and about the stages of your involvement within the community.

Esther Dodo: I’m a native Brazilian freelance translator based in the U.S. I have a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration with a Marketing specialization and I worked for many years in this field. I was always passionate about languages and at a certain point of my life I decided to purse the translation career. This decision brought me back to school to obtain my Certification in Translation Studies.

It didn’t take long to realize that if I wanted to work with translation I would also have to add practical experience on my resumé. I was advised that the fastest way to achieve this goal was by looking for volunteer translation opportunities.

At that point, I must confess that I had never heard of Global Voices. I remember that I was given a couple of organizations that utilize volunteer translators and after I investigated their mission statements nothing attracted me.

I found Global Voices totally by chance while browsing the Internet – and I became captivated with the idea of translating the news. I immediately contacted Débora Medeiros, who at that time was responsible for accepting new applicants.

Débora was a tremendous mentor! She gave me all the guidance to start translating here at GV and also all the attention to make me feel part of this community!

GV: Did your experience of translating, authoring and editing change your vision of the world during this time?