Introducing myself as the new Managing Editor

Filip Noubel.

Dear All,

As I now enter my third week as Managing Editor at GV, I would like to take some time to introduce myself, map out the first ideas I plan to pursue with all of you, and offer my time for your questions, suggestions and advice.

My background

My name is Filip Noubel, and I am currently based in Prague in the Czech Republic. Describing where I come from is much more complicated, as I grew up in a mixed Czech-French family in Ireland, Soviet Uzbekistan and Greece, and went on to study Slavonic and East Asia languages in Tokyo, Prague, Paris and Beijing.

It is through translation that I entered the world of media as an online editor for Russian, and later Chinese news targeting English-speaking audiences. After a short break in Nepal during which I studied Buddhism and thangka painting, I established myself in Bishkek in Kyrgyzstan and worked there for several local and international media and research organizations (The Times of Central Asia, UN OCHA, Internews and the International Crisis Group) across Central Asia.

In 2002, I relocated to Nepal to research human rights abuses, later went on to the Caucasus for similar work, all with the International Crisis Group. In 2005, I returned to Bishkek as Central Asia Editor for IWPR, a British NGO training local journalists and producing news in multiple languages. Then, from 2006 to 2016, I was mostly based in Beijing as country director for Internews China, dedicating my time to training lawyers on freedom of expression, and journalists on environmental and cross-border issues. While in Beijing, I did a couple of stories for GV, and went on translating posts into French. Finally, in 2016, I moved to Prague and joined the Prague Civil Society Centre as Innovations Advisor, designing and leading training events across Eurasia for activists, designers and journalists.