Locking down, standing up

Photo by Ivan Sigal. Used with permission.

Dear GVers,

It’s now the beginning of June, and even though many of our countries are beginning to exit the lockdowns imposed in response to COVID-19, we know it will be some time before life returns to so-called “normal”, and we hope everyone is managing to stay healthy and safe.

While we're all working under conditions of additional stress, however, this continues to be a very productive time for GV. In May we published 112 stories and had almost 950,000 pageviews, and as of this morning we have produced 535 stories for the year. We’re deeply grateful for your work, and readers are too. Here are two comments we’ve received this month from readers who chose to make small online donations:

Now, more than ever, we must have the continued global perspective that the contributors write. I'm a language teacher and I often use your material in class; authentic and clear reporting is what I want young people to read in all languages.

and

Thank you for your focus on the triple crisis in eastern Africa. I didn't know because public radio and TV hadn't, to my knowledge, covered it.

GV has tended not to focus on domestic US issues, and a glance at our site shows that there are atrocities taking place in other parts of the world that never make it into the pages of international newspapers. But to write this message without mentioning the upheaval in the United States feels strange, especially as protests are taking place across the world in response.