- Global Voices Community Blog - https://community.globalvoices.org -

Marie Kéïta often feels like she gets to travel without leaving home

Categories: Community, Contributor Profiles

Photo provided by Marie Kéïta and used with permission.

Community blog note: This post is part of a new series called GVer of the Week where each Wednesday, we'll feature a different community member who has been nominated by one of their colleagues. If you wish to nominate someone to be featured here, please complete this form [1].

In her second year as a member of the Global Voices in French team, Marie Kéïta [2] has translated more than 30 articles. Originally from the Ivory Coast, she is now based in Paris, France. In this email interview with Global Voices, she shares how her contributions to GV have made the world feel like a smaller place.

Global Voices (GV): What do you do outside GV? What are your other interests?

Marie Kéïta (MK): As a freelance translator, I spend a lot of time translating haha! I'm an avid reader, guilty of buying more books before reading the massive pile I already have! Before the pandemic hit us, I would spend time with my friends in real life and travel as often as possible. I also love listening to podcasts to discover stories and opinions different from mine that challenge my mind.

GV: What’s one surprising thing about you?

MK: I am a proud feminist, I have a deep interest in women's rights, and I can talk about it for hours. A look on my GV author's page confirms that! I feel like people are sometimes afraid to openly say they are [a feminist], out of fear of being judged. I believe we should empower everyone to be more confident in their feminism.

GV: What do you want people to know about the place you live?