- Global Voices Community Blog - https://community.globalvoices.org -

Meet Cyrine Alaya, Lingua French translator

Categories: Celebration, Community, Contributor Profiles, Lingua, Translator Profiles
[1]

Image courtesy of Cyrine Alaya.

Global Voices: Tell us about yourself—who exactly is Cyrine Alaya [2]?

Cyrine Alaya: I am a young Tunisian translator who loves languages, cultures and travel. I have always been fascinated by the unknown. I am constantly looking for new adventures, but also new ways to enjoy doing the things I love.

Becoming a translator has always been one of my dreams. I have always seen this job as a rewarding one where I would learn things every day, continue to grow while breaking cultural barriers, and maintain a view of the other, the unknown, and do so at all levels of society.

Today, I am lucky enough to fulfil my dream and to make a living from my passion. This is the greatest of privileges!

GV: When did you join GV and what motivated you to do so?

CA: I joined GV in December 2020. At the time, I was in my first year of my MA in Translation and was looking for opportunities to further improve my skills while helping a worthwhile cause. Therefore, I spent a lot of time looking on the internet, and I sent an application to several international organisations and communities, including GV.

GV: Tell us more about your experience as a translator for GV. What aspects of the role have made the strongest impression on you?

CA: I have learned so much through GV. By the way, I would like to thank the entire team for their considerable efforts, and especially the proofreaders with whom I’ve spoken to several times over email over the past two years. I have really appreciated all these discussions, as they have enabled me to improve my translation and writing skills. These constructive discussions and criticism are very important, and I have learned to accept them. This is the key to progress.