Meet Daniel Frédéric Ngono, French Lingua Translator

Photo de Daniel Ngono. Publiée avec sa permission.

Photo courtesy Daniel Frédéric NGONO. Used with permission.

GV : Tell us more about yourself?

DN : I was born on 18 November 1996 at Mbalmayo,   department capital of Nyong and So'o in the Centre Region of Cameroon. After passing my A-levels in Literature and Philosophy at Mbalmayo-Oyack College in 2013, I chose to do a Bachelor's degree in Bilingual Literature (French-English, with a Contrastive Studies module) at the University of Yaoundé I, which I graduated from in 2016. Then, in 2021, I got a Professional Qualification Certificate (PQC) in Editing and Project Management from the CFPAM (Arts et Métiers Professional Training Centre) of Ekounou, Yaoundé. In June 2022, I got accepted in a Master's Degree in Translation, Narration and New Media at the University of Evry — Paris Saclay (France). Unfortunately, I wasn't able to fully grab this opportunity to study abroad as my family's financial situation meant that I couldn't afford to go. As I was passionate and still hoped to fulfil my dream, in October 2022, I finally went to the ISTIC [fr](Higher Institute in Translation, Interpreting and Communication) of Yaoundé. I am currently finishing my MA in Linguistic Engineering and Translation [French-English-LSF (French Sign Language)].

Professionally speaking, in addition to being a computational linguist and professional translator, I am also a writer and an English and French as a foreign language teacher. I have been working at the Collège Catholique Bilingue de la Retraite for over six years. This is one of the most prestigious secondary schools in Cameroon. My latest work, which was awarded the 4th Young Cameroonian Writer Prize (Prix de la Jeune Plume Camerounaise) in 2015 (literary Prize awarded by the Genoo Foundation), is a theatrical piece called Ça sort comme ça sort[fr].