Meet Rawan Gharib, who went from frequent visitor to volunteer translator

Rawan Gharib at Manasterly Palace, Cairo. Photo used with permission.

Tell us a bit about yourself and how you joined GV.

I am a polyglot translator and editor with Hispanic Language and Literature studies background. I’ve always had the passion for languages, but I never considered translation as a professional career until I stumbled upon GV. The green logo was actually the first thing that caught my eyes, and I loved it! At that time I was desperately looking for a platform where I could read more humanized stories, through which I could know much more about this world without losing objectivity or getting confused following labels and identifications. GV was distinguishably able to create this balance scale for me. So I became a frequent visitor and then, on 2016, I decided to volunteer as a translator.

Did your experience of translating, authoring and editing change your vision of the world during this time?

Absolutely, especially authoring. Translating and editing were more beneficial on the linguistic and professional levels. Meanwhile, authoring opened my eyes to new ways of seeing the world without any projections. It was a great exercise on sticking to facts and reality. I was completely aware of its fundamental value but found a hard time applying because of my tendency towards a literary writing style.

Does your work with GV impact your day job and daily life? Could you elaborate somewhat on how you manage your own time for all these tasks, including your day job? Any tips?